An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Eglin Airman claims major command annual award

  • Published
  • By Estella Holmes, Air Force Materiel Command

The Air Force Materiel Command honored top Airmen and Guardians for 2021 during the Annual Excellence Award Banquet March 23, 2022.

During a ceremony in the Modern Flight Gallery of the National Museum of the United States Air Force, nominees in nine separate categories: Airman, non-commissioned officer, senior non-commissioned officer, first sergeant, company grade officer, field grade officer, civilian category I, civilian category II and civilian category III, were recognized from throughout AFMC's headquarters, centers and wings.

Eglin's Capt. Troy D. Soileau Jr., of the 96th Cyberspace Test Group, took home the company grade officer prize.

The 2021 winners are:

AIRMAN OF THE YEAR: Senior Airman Kayla L. Stevens is a civil law paralegal in the Office of the Staff Judge Advocate, 66th Air Base Group, Hanscom Air Force Base, Massachusetts. Stevens assumed the vacant military justice Non-Commissioned Officer In Charge position, managing three courts and producing 32 trial records without appellate errors. She was a crucial asset to the installation’s Headquarters Judge Advocate inspection and was awarded Top Performer for work review and corrections efforts. Stevens was ranked number one of 44 Airmen and promoted to Senior Airman below-the-zone.

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER OF THE YEAR: Tech. Sgt. Jennifer G. Thomas served as supervisor, Air Force Vehicle Fleet Support, 441st Vehicle Support Chain Operations Squadron, 735th Supply Chain Operations Group, 635th Supply Chain Operations Wing, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Virginia. Thomas was instrumental in support of the Department of Homeland Security. Her expertise shone through in the deployment of four assets in less than 48 hours to aid the transfer of 3,000 migrants. Furthermore, she led a team of three personnel during the recent Operation Allies Welcome and directed 57 crucial vehicle shipments in support of the 50,000 Afghanistan evacuees, earning her the Wings’ Arthur S. Flemming award.

SENIOR NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER OF THE YEAR: Master Sgt. Jeramie S. Proctor excelled as superintendent, Operations Divisions, Hill Air Force Base, Utah. Proctor led 435 personnel in sustaining a $304 million network defense system, and a $110 million data center contract to protect 50 hosted programs from cyber exploitation. In addition, he modernized base emergency services for 27,000 personnel by leading a $675,000 network upgrade that earned him the Air Force Sustainment Center Command General Jumper Award for 2021.

FIRST SERGEANT OF THE YEAR: Master Sgt. Crystal R. Bateman excelled as first sergeant, 402d Aircraft Maintenance Group, Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex, Robins Air Force Base, Georgia. Bateman created caring environments, partnered with support agencies and reducing suicides by 75 percent. Bateman was presented the Air Force Sustainment Center Diversity and Inclusion Innovation award.

COMPANY GRADE OFFICER OF THE YEAR: Capt. Troy D. Soileau Jr. performed as the flight commander, 47th Cyberspace Test Squadron, 96th Cyberspace Test Group, 96th Test Wing, Air Force Test Center, Air Force Materiel Command, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida. Soileau oversaw $9 million of equipment in support of 12 critical aircraft and weapons cybersecurity test programs. Additionally, as the 96th Cyberspace Test Group Chief Data Officer, he made strides in transforming how the Group and Wing leveraged large data sources to create more lethal weapon systems for the Air Force.

FIELD GRADE OFFICER OF THE YEAR: Maj. Adam C. Sheridan stood out as deputy chief, Execution Branch, AFWERX, AFVentures, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. Sheridan’s leadership drove accelerated transition of technology programs to Air and Space Force operations. He created and led the first Air Force Industry Counter Intelligence Summit of its kind to provide protection of critical technologies, shielding 1,814 at-risk tech firms from foreign adversary influence. He also pioneered process improvements that slashed proposal-to-contract award timelines by 67% and saved over 6,000 man hours per year across his $742 million small business research portfolio.

CIVILIAN CATEGORY I OF THE YEAR: Christopher D. Stringfield excelled as a pharmacy technician, 88th Diagnostics and Therapeutics Squadron, Wright- Paterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Stringfield expertly managed the $10 million chemotherapy pharmacy program, at the Services’ second largest medical treatment facility. Additionally, he supported preparation of 3,900 infusion medications, providing successful treatment for 82 patients afflicted by the Coronavirus Disease.

CIVILIAN CATEGORY II OF THE YEAR: Pervis C. King stood out as the Counter Improvised Explosive Device program manager, Air Force Security Forces Center, Air Force Installation and Mission Support Center, Joint Base San Antonio, Texas. King led a team of 40 personnel in the largest global force management training review ever done. It resulted in the elimination of 12 critical shortfalls. Additionally, he chaired the Diversity and Inclusion Council creating 23 visual aids and leading four Wing sensing sessions.

CIVILIAN CATEGORY  III OF THE YEAR: Amber L. Evans served as the A-10 Structures Section Chief, 416th Supply Chain Management Squadron, 748th Supply Chain Management Group, 448th Supply Chain Management Wing, Hill Air Force Base, Utah. Evans supervised the A-10 structures section and provided outstanding sustainment support to the fleet of A-10 aircraft. Her efforts enabled the completion of a first article test that saved four months in testing and $5.6 million. She led a process that provided pre-inspection criteria to rank the reparability of A-10 wings from best to worst. She was also instrumental in identifying the best candidates for repair and eliminated over 1,000 labor hours from the repair process.

The complete AFMC Excellence Awards Banquet video can be viewed at: